Leadership Greater Jackson


Shirley Tucker

Leadership Development Vice President


The Leadership Greater Jackson Program, which is a program of the Greater Jackson Chamber Partnership, was founded in November 1986. The program is currently in its 25th year. Leadership Greater Jackson is a community-wide leadership program that develops existing and emerging leaders in the metro area. The program is designed to educate participants about major community issues and alternate approaches to solutions to community problems. Participants have sharpened their leadership skills while gaining a better understanding of various aspects of the community including forums on politics, education, the legal system, healthcare, quality of life, government and economics. Leadership Greater Jackson is a nine-month program, which has six-monthly sessions and three overnight retreats.

The Leadership Greater Jackson Board of Trustees is charged with the responsibility of overseeing the annual program activities of the program. The Board is comprised of community leaders and has financial and policy responsibilities for all activities of Leadership Greater Jackson.

Each year up to forty participants are selected to participate in the program. Participants are selected by a committee that is appointed by the Chairman of the Leadership Greater Jackson Board of Trustees.

Click here for the 2015 LGJ Nomination Form!

Click here for the LGJAA Alumni page!

Leadership Greater Jackson 2014/2015 Class

The Leadership Greater Jackson Board of Trustees and the Greater Jackson Chamber Partnership Board of Directors are proud to present the 28th class of Leadership Greater Jackson.

Click here to view this year's class.



Leadership Greater Jackson has received national recognition in the following years: 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1995, 1998, 1999, 2002


Leadership Greater Jackson Class Visits JPD

Leadership Greater Jackson class members visited the Jackson Police Department on Wednesday, December 10, 2014, during a review of the city's laws, criminal and civil justice system.  The all day activities also includeed visits with local municipal, county and federal judges and lawyers.  Comprehensive discussions were held with Chief Lee Vance, Sheriff Tyrone Lewis, Judge William Skinner and their staffs.  More discussion is expected in future meetings.

For more information about the Leadership Greater Jackson program, please contact Shirley Tucker, Vice President, Leadership Development, at 601-948-7575, ext. 270 or stucker@greaterjacksonpartnership.com